Passion

Passion (n.)

1. a very powerful feeling, for example of sexual attraction, love, hate, anger, or other emotion. 2. an extreme interest in or wish for doing something, such as a hobby, activity.

The events of this day got me thinking. They got me thinking about many things which could be probably summed up in one word – passion.

As an 18 years old girl, according to society, there are things I should be passionate about and things I should not be passionate about. When I become passionate abour things from the second group, people start saying I’m ‘wasting my time’ and somehow completely ignore the fact that I enjoy it and find it relaxing, therefore it’s not by any means a waste of time for me. For quite some part of this day I was trying to come up with an rule to sort hobbies into these two categories and I think I finally got it. The rule is: whatever you could potentially make living from is a ‘good’ and ‘acceptable’ hobby. If you think within traditional careers this rule pretty much applies to anything. For example, playing a violin? Yes. Gaming? Not so much.

Our hobbies and passion has became yet another thing that is all about success, nowadays, even though it’s mostly only potentional success. But let’s be realistic, once a hobby becomes a career and therefore a duty, it loses at least part of it’s appeal, no matter how joyful it was before.

Why should we let this rule dictate parts of our lives when in case of success we only loose part of ourselves?

Why let people tell us that we like the wrong things a little too much?

“It’s okay to love something a little too much,as long as it’s real to you.” – Gerard Way

Leave a comment